



PROCLAMATION

- WHEREAS, Following the April 1974 disastrous fire of the Sulphur Bluff School gym, fourteen citizens were motivated to provide fire protection for Hopkins County James "PeeWee" Bassham, J.T. "Putt" Bassham, Mike Bassham, Billy Chester, Gene Beale, Henry Allen Davis, Darrell Deaton, Bert Dorner, George Dorner, Tommy Holcomb, Joe Don Joslin, Don Patterson, T.L. Sanderson, James Waller; and
- WHEREAS, T.L. Sanderson supported these efforts by lending a 1968 Chevy milk truck to serve in hauling water to the site where volunteers operated with buckets and water-soaked feed sacks; and
- WHEREAS, The Sulphur Bluff Volunteer Fire Department was founded in late 1975 as one of the first Volunteer Fire Departments to serve Hopkins County; and
- **WHEREAS,** In 1976, with revenue sharing money and the assembly of units in Wichita Falls, Sulphur Bluff received the first of five fire trucks purchased as 1976 one-ton chassis by Hopkins County through Price Ford Sales of Sulphur Springs.
- WHEREAS, In their efforts to generate revenue toward the purchase of land and construction of the Sulphur Bluff Volunteer Fire Department facility, the volunteer firemen hauled a 1976 half-ton pickup truck to area events throughout northeast Texas to sell tickets.
- WHEREAS, Today, the Sulphur Bluff Volunteer Fire Department has thirteen members supporting six fire apparatus continuing to serve and protect the Sulphur Bluff community and Hopkins County Chris Bassham, James K. Bassham, Bert Dorner, Brian Dorner, Joey Dorner, Jimmy Dale Fite, Cam Hill, Micah Johnson, Janice Joslin, Joe Don Joslin, Don Patterson, Donnie Powers and Karen Powers.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hopkins County Commissioners Court urges all citizens of Hopkins County to celebrate the outstanding efforts of the firemen of the Sulphur Bluff Volunteer Fire Department, to recognize the dedication in their perseverance to provide protection for the citizens of Hopkins County and their property and, offer sincere appreciation for the servanthood of each one.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED by the Hopkins County Commissioners Court at the regularly scheduled meeting on the <u>11th</u> day of <u>February</u>, <u>2019</u>.

Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge

Mickey Barker Commissioner, Pct.

Greg Anglin, Commissioner, Pct. 2

Wade Bartley, Commissioner Pct. 3

Joe Price, Commissioner, Pet. 4

Andy Endsley, Hopkins County Fire Chief